An aging adoptee with increasingly diminished expectations

Image

In my 20s, I thought I could change the world … MTV, U2, university, a European girlfriend, travel and work in many, many places around the world convinced me it was possible … sandwiched in-between, was lots of good stuff, fun, great kids, loads of possibilities and then, 9/11, the growing effects of globalization and privatization, my wife’s cancer and my job loss meet at the same time, the Lehman Brothers and the 2008 meltdown, and now the full impact of globalization and the financial meltdown … and, now it’s 2013, just glad to be breathing every morning. Now, all I think about is keeping a $12/hour cash only casual labour warehouse job long enough to pay a couple of bills. What the hell happened!

… Gloria!!!

Leave a Reply

